The Shan Nationalities League for Democracy (SNLD) elected a new central committee during recent township meeting in Kyaukme Township, A total of 265 representatives from 46 townships attended the township meeting in northern Shan State.

“It’s good that new youth members have been selected as part of the committee during voting on April 5,” said Sai Saing Hlang said.

There are 25 central executives and 75 committee members; 40 of which are members of parliament.

In the central committee, Khun Htun Oo has been named chairman; Sai Saw Aung as vice chairman 1; Sai Kham Pein Pha as vice chairman 2; Sai Nyunt Lwin as general secretary; Sai Leik as joint general secretary 1; Sai Kyaw Nyunt as joint general secretary 2; Sai Agga as campaign officer; Sai Soe Myint as financial officer, Nan Htwe Hmone as auditor, and Sai Sam Phwun Seng as information officer.

For the different regions in Shan State, Sai Kham Pein Pha is the southern party chairman; Sai Hla Pe is the northern party chairman; U Seinna is the eastern party chairman for eastern Shan State and Dr Sai Naw Khay is the party chairman for Mandalay and Kachin.

The SNLD released a statement at the end of the meeting to amend the 2008 Constitution; strive to end conflicts to achieve genuine peace, cooperate with allied organizations and current government for building the union.